A Life Update

Man! I have been staring at this page for two weeks now. Not because I didn’t know what to write (there’s so much julle!), but I didn’t know where to start.

fascinated

Begin at the beginning and go on till you come to the end; then stop. ~ Lewis Carroll

Two months ago

I’ll start where I left y’all at. Two months ago I had started a new job, moved into a new apartment, signed my daughter in at a new school and was super excited about the new ventures and life.

Two weeks into all that I realized I’d made a huge, epic mistake! The fabulous apartment I’d fallen in love with smelled like a sewer because of badly blocked drains and the landlord was in South Korea and didn’t GAF as long as he got his check. Long story short: I refused to pay and moved out post haste.We moved into a hotel while searching for a replacement apartment.

Soon job issues became apparent too. The inability to get a straight answer from anyone on literally anything became a bugbear. I pride myself on my ability to do a job well and soon it became apparent that a lack of communication was going to make that impossible.

As another doomed deadline whizzed past, I realized I was going for take the blame for it despite repeated admonitions and pleadings to the powers that be, aka senior management, to put safeguards in place.

Before the inevitable could happen, I quit. They refused to accept my resignation letter, I continued until month end when the project deadline was dead in the water and then THEY FIRED ME! To say I was stunned would be an understatement.

Everybody here knows that these things come in three’s so while I was battling all this uncertainty, my heart was struggling to adjust to regular school. Y’all know she’s a homeschooled brat and inasmuch as we prepared her for norm schooling, nothing could prepare her or us for the sheer volume of “busy work” she had to battle through on the daily.

Homework for the sake of homework. Tests upon quiz upon assessment. Projects, book reports, assignments and presentations. Let me remind you that she’s 10! I wrote the school via their online portal to excuse her from about 90% of all this madness and was ignored. Eventually I wrote a note in her diary.

I know some of you are going to think she couldn’t manage the workload because she was homeschooled all these years. I’m sorry but that is bullshit. She wrote 1000 word essays when she was 9! She did an in depth research project on the life cycle of the cockshafer beetle ( look it up!) when she turned 10 and she’s in an advanced math and science stream and was projected to finish her high school syllabus at age 11 – so I think she could handle the work.

It was the madness of the school curriculum and the sheer amount of pointless social activities ( school trip to the book fair where she wasn’t allowed to buy any books the teacher didn’t approve of, anyone?!) that took it’s toll.

We whipped her out of there. I didn’t even bother to ask for the books we’d bought and paid for. Norm schooling may be ok for others but the dumbed down syllabus wasn’t going to cut it for our G.

She’s far happier and settled with her home tuition schedule, and frankly, so are we.

Right about now

We’re still living in a hotel suite ( you know I needed to upgrade!), our house is in a storage container somewhere in Dubai, G’s taking a break from homeschooling ( she’s traumatized from the above mentioned) and things are settling into a restful phase again. We feel more settled anyway.

Hubby and I went through a fairly shitty period through all that and the D – word was used in a not – so – casual manner. Attorneys were contacted and lines were drawn. All very dramatic! With the quitting of/firing from the job, we talked again. It appears I have become a frigid hag and quite, quite bitter! Who knew?

I suspected that I was not doing well physically and had the doctor check out my hormone levels. Lo and behold it showed I was in perimenopause! Shock! Horror!

Not surprised.

Things are changing. My body. My mind. My tolerance for stupid people and needless drama. My period is all over the place. My body feels like it weighs a ton and the regular exercise ( cardio and yoga) seem less effective. So I’m trying weightlifting. And swimming. Ironically this, above all else, is bringing hubby and I closer. We workout together now. He’s teaching me all he knows about weights and I’ve introduced him to the wonders that is a workout on a ball.

What some of you may know, is that I’m going through my certification for being a master life coach. As part of that I need to do 125 hours of paid coaching work. Well! I’ve signed a few new clients and things are progressing. I’ll have to do some active searching soon since these fabulous hotel meals have to be paid for somehow, but yes, things are looking up in the career department.

We’re looking at a few properties and we are looking in Dubai. As much as I love Al Ain, it’s starting to feel claustrophobic. Business opportunities are also very limited here. So we’ll be upping sticks and moving to the City Of Life. I am super excited! I know some readers are confused right now( thought I was IN Dubai already) but google it!

Ok lovelies, that’s it for me! I know it seemed like forever since I’ve blogged but I’ve been VERY active on SM, especially Instagram, so head over there for a quick snapshot of my life over the past two months.

Until next I blog,

K.

4 thoughts on “A Life Update

  1. I feel your pain with your perimenopause symptoms. Try acupuncture. I don’t have any night sweats or hot flashes. It evens out my moods. I don’t put up with anyone’s crap anymore. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

