My Journey to Menopause

**Males or hyper sensitive readers turn away now.

I'm 44. Shhhh. Don't tell anyone. My stock answer is "I'm forever 21".

I'm greying, things are sagging and the rest are either tired, veiny or dry. I'm in active peri – menopause, but I couldn't be happier! Relieved would be a better word.

You see, I've always hated my period. The fecundity that ensured I could produce excellent offspring notwithstanding, I have always decried the onset of my menses each month.

I suffer from primary dysmenorrhea. To those in the know, it starts 2-3 days before my actual period. PMS is a bitch when you also suffer from dysmenorrhea. Back ache, sensitive breasts, acne, diarrhea, mood swings, cravings, weight gain, bloating and nausea with black outs may happen as well. Truly the gift that keeps on giving. 😩

By the time ma Flo arrives, I have my big girl pants( anything stretchy and elasticated) bloomers (ditto) and a heating pad or hot water bottle on stand by. Ibuprofen, chocolates and lots of tissues in a dark room and I stay down for at least 24 hours.

I have tried:

  • Homeopathy
  • Acupuncture
  • Herbal "cures"
  • Traditional medicine
  • Surgery
  • Hormone treatment
  • Birth control pills

While these helped short term, the primary dysmenorrhea eventually came back more intensely than before. Doctors are at a loss to explain it other than "ippiekonners". 😏

See, to me menopause is hardly the nightmare some women complain about. Hot flushes? I live in the desert, bring it. Mood swings? Bwahaha! Pain? I laugh in the face of your idea of pain. Bloating, weight gain, acne? Puhleeze! 🙄

I don't want any more kids ( I got it right the first time, hehe! 😁)so the loss of my fertility is hardly a concern. In fact, the end of my fertility feels like the beginning of my life! I want to shout it from the rooftops!

I believe there are, ahem, remedies for the deficiencies that will naturally occur with my sex life so I'm not about to cry about that either. Dryness = gels and potions. Frigidity = a little more effort from the mister or a female version of the little blue pill. Is there such a thing?

I'm fairly healthy, I work out, eat well, take care of my skin and have a positive outlook on life. Not to toot my own horn, but I look a lot better than most women my age. I'm not about to disappear into the ether of wherever it was menopausal women used to go in the past.

In fact I plan on reclaiming every day of my horrendous period days spent in a darkened room; out in the light, with lights blazing and a spring in my step.

Who says menopause is a life sentence? I see more and more women of a certain age blogging, running companies, setting off the second halves of their lives in style. I feel invigorated with the possibilities ahead of me.

Are you a woman of a certain age? What is your take on menopause? How do you handle aging? Let me know in the comments.

Until next I blog,
K.

P. S. To all my girls in beautiful South Africa 🇿🇦, have a wonderful Women's Day 2017! 💐

3 thoughts on “My Journey to Menopause

Leave a Reply

