Crafting YOUR Personal Brand: The Method to the Madness

Secret sharing time: until last November (2016), I had no idea who I was and what I represented. And as the old adage goes " If you don't stand for something, you'll fall for anything".

And fall I did. Many, many, many times. I fell for sucker jobs that no one else would do, shitty friends that everyone else saw through, and generally accepted whatever people decided to give me.

I don't know when exactly I woke up. I started writing a lot more. That may have been the panacea my head needed. Things clicked into after that.

The first casualty in my rebranding was my job. I like teaching. I'm good at it. I enjoy seeing understanding blossom on a learner's face. But teaching was becoming soul destroying. Administrative paperwork, standardized assessments, and so on… I just wasn't feeling the teaching thing anymore.

So I left. Same thing happened to unsupportive "friends", energy leeches and negative people. I walked away from all of them.

But that's neither here nor there.

The reason for this post was because I get that some of you still don't see the value of personal branding. And because I want to make sure I leave none of my girlfriends behind, I thought I'd explain it a little better.

So let's try a little active visualization shall we?

I want you to close your eyes and think of a house. Don't get this twisted: that house is you…or rather the YOU you think people see you as. Make sense?

Focus on the size, colour and shape of the house. Is it a big house? Small? Single or double story. Don't overthink this, just let your mind take you where it wants to go.

Now I want you to focus on the details of your house. The paint, the windows and doors. Are there curtains on your house? A garden in front? A stoep?

Got it?

Now look next door to your neighbour's house. Focus on the same details as you did on your house. This is how you see yourself in comparison to others.

Final part…whose house is better, bigger, smarter? Yours? Your neighbour's?

What is all this mumbo jumbo, K? The answers follow, chillax!

Whatever your answer is, it should tell you all you need to know about what you should do next. You see, most women view themselves unfavorably in comparison to other women or sometimes even men.

The size, shape and colour of your house is how you see your influence or space in the world, how you think of your role in the world. A word of warning: a bigger house doesn't necessarily indicate you have delusions of grandeur. It just means you're more secure in your competencies, be it educational or charismatic.

The details are the things you wish you could work on, the things you think people judge you on. How you look, how you present to the world. Image. Perception.

Now your neighbour's house and how you perceive it says a lot about how you view yourself in relation to others. Perhaps you think they're better than you, look better than you and are better than you. Maybe it's true, mebbe it's not.

The solution is in building yourself.

Figuring YOU out. One way to do that is through sessions with a good shrink.

Another way to understanding what makes you tick is to do a course in Personal Branding.

Why? Because Personal Branding helps you find your place in the world and stake your claim, loudly, proudly and unapologetically.
Can I get an amen?! 🙌🏼

Personal Branding helps you improve your image through a series of steps like image management, online identity and so much more.
Can I get a hallelujah?!🙏🏼

Personal Branding helps you view the world and the people around you not as the competition but as an extension of the world you create and choose to have around you.
Can I get a hell yes?!👏🏼

So what are you waiting for? Get subscribed to the free and always will be e – course I've created just. For. You. The Art of Personal Branding is what you need to turn that house, into your home.

Now stand sister, and sing with me … 🎶🎶

Until next I blog,
K.

Leave a Reply

