How I come up with Blogpost Ideas 

I post 5 days a week. As such, someone asked me where I get ideas for posts from. My answer? Everywhere, anywhere. Everyone, anyone. I don’t have a magic formula for posting, just lots of inspiration. My inspiration dictates my posts. 

My life

My family, my husband, our relationship, my daughter, the things she does and says, my parents, my in- laws, my siblings, my dreams and aspirations, my health, struggles and victories. Any and all of it and so much more. 


My work

Best bits, worst bits, office politics, how I deal with all of it, professional development, being a career woman and a mom. So much material is right there everyday. 

The UAE

The politics, the do’s and don’ts, the best and worst, my experiences in 13 years in arguably the best country in the world and so much more. 

South Africa 

The politics, the do’s and don’ts, the best and worst, my experiences in 13 years away from arguably the best country in the world and so much more. 😉

Stuff

Reviews of stuff I like, stuff I don’t like, healthy foods, recipes, places I like, places I don’t like. 

See? I’ve got an entire planet to write about. The trick is making it your own. 

So how do I do that?

 Well, again it’s no magic formula. I make lots of notes. I write things down. I record endless voice notes, questions that pop into my head. Funny stuff, things that make me go erm? Anything I read, see, hear, feel or whatnot can be the fuel for a blogpost. 

Most times I have no idea what it will be until I start the drafting process, but after a week of fermenting in my head, something legible, readable and intelligible is usually cobbled together. After endless edits, rewrites and deletions, I work on pics and quotes and so on. 

By Saturday and Sunday I sit down for a good marathon session and get it all in drafts on WordPress. I schedule it once each draft is perfected. Some days the final draft is done just before a post is due – I’ll faff about with pics and white space and quotes and pics that suit the story. All my posts are scheduled for 12 AM, Monday to Friday. I’ll do all my Canva’s and Ripl then too. Honestly these keep me accountable too. If I do a weekly Ripl detailing what I’m blogging about that week, then I’ll be sure to do it, if you know what I mean?

That’s it. No magic pill. Just lots of inspiration and passion for what I do. 


What works for you? Let me know in the comments.

Until next I blog, 

K.

12 thoughts on “How I come up with Blogpost Ideas 

  1. Read this and thought – yep! That is exactly what I do. Voice notes and all! LOL I also think that is what makes you unique your life your opinions and perspective is what differentiates you from everyone else. So you will never have to look for inspiration however the drafts and Saturdays are so difficult for me. Thanks for the inspiration! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! Your post brings up vague feelings of unease. I’ve been sitting here, trying to figure out where the ‘pinch’ is coming from, and I think I have it.

    You list all this stuff you do, posting 5 days a week, keeping notes, rewrites, multiple drafts… I feel like a slacker, lol. That old devil ‘Comparison’ rearing its ugly head in my heart.

    Excellent food for thought! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no! That’s not what I wanted at all. 😩I had hoped to impart that passion for what I do makes it all easy. Perhaps you’re better at the writing thing than I am and don’t need to do so much? 😬

      Like

      1. Don’t be alarmed!

        I guess I should have explained, lol. I am in a place, spiritually (for now!) where things that give birth to feelings of unease or discomfort are WELCOME (especially light feelings, like your post provided), because they point me to unconscious thought patterns that hold me back in my life.

        Bring ’em on, sister! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

