My 5 Favourite South African Bloghers( geddit?)

“Everybody has their favourite favourite!”

I remember this line from an old Quality Street ad for the famous tin of chocolates. It used to play on tv when I was a kid and I still remember that one line.

Every brand has to be memorable. It’s got to have something that differentiates it from the rest. This is so true for many brands and brand identities today. In fact marketing firms get paid millions to make sure a brand or slogan is unforgettable.

The ladies who made my list are similarly unforgettable, most without the benefit of branding mechanizations or expert help. They have the dubious honor of having made me eat my words.

You see, not too long ago, I said that I don’t follow any South African bloggers because none resonated with me. How things have changed! Since starting this blog I have made some connections I wouldn’t have dreamed possible a mere 3 months ago. Real, human, personal connections.

The ladies who made this list are brave, but brave in a way that makes all the rest seem like fluff; they’re real women who lay it out – all the things, every week, they’re unapologetically flawed and the best thing is they share how they deal with their flaws so that you and I can learn from them. 

So who are these Wonder Women, you ask? Hold on to your hats:

1. Shaveh Feder – federfun.wordpress.com


I don’t know how she does it. She’s a one woman balancing act. She homeschools three children, is the wife of a minister( the church kind) and works part time on a creative career, which she candidly confesses, can detract from the work she does with her kids.

She’s real, she’s unvarnished and her YouTube videos with her adorable kids are charming. She blogs knowledgeably about homeschooling in South Africa and offers some great advice, tips and tricks to other homeschoolers.

2. Melissa Javan – melissajavan.co.za


Melissa is a fairly new blogger striving to lock down her little part of the interwebs. She’s a journalist, with a real bent for stories about real people.

She’s blogs about creative things, while also offering invaluable advice on the world of business. She’s also very open to helping other bloggers along the path to blogging Utopia. She’s learning and she’s happy to share her lessons with anyone who cares to ask.

3. Lady Lebz – ladylebz.wordpress.com


Her words are art. She shares stories that are sometimes too much to handle. My favourite happens to be the one on surviving an abusive relationship and having the strength to walk away.

She also writes about world events and offers some great advice on common issues women experience. If you’re looking for creative writing, the stories will remain with you long after you’ve stopped reading.

4. Diane Studer – elephantseyegarden.blogspot.com


Whenever I feel particularly homesick, I turn to Diane.

Her words, her pictures and her expressive style of writing makes me feel as if I’m there, back in a garden in South Africa.

She also blogs about plants and biodiversity, so you know I’m learning every time I’m visiting her blog!

* Update: Diane has moved her blog. Find her here

5. Jonelle Du Pont – jonelledupont.com


Jonelle was one of my first. Followed bloggers from South Africa, that is. Once you visit her blog, you’ll know why.

She is a veritable fount of information related to anything blogging, marketing and entrepreneurship.

* Update: I totes begoats forgot to mention that a more personal side to Jonelle can be found at tyrannyofpink.com

This was the hardest thing to do, choosing just 5. Next time I may blog about bloghims (geddit?) I adore. Who do you read on the reg? Share in the comments.

Until next I blog, 

K.

13 thoughts on “My 5 Favourite South African Bloghers( geddit?)

    1. I think everyone needs fresh blood every now and again!😊Its like discovering a new book or tv program. Most times it’s a welcome change! Thanks for reading and responding! Much love!❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

