French Onion and Lentil Soup

I love getting creative in the kitchen. I’m no Masterchef but I love experimenting with things I’ve never made before.

The best French Onion soup I ever had was at my favourite restuarant in Mall of the Emirates, Pain De Quotidien. It was so memorable that 4 years after first eating it there, I am now going to try making my own version. I am including lentils since I want it to be more substantial, but you can omit the lentils if you’re a purest.

You’ll need: 

4 medium /2 large onions, peeled and sliced into thin slices


1 head of garlic, peeled and sliced into thin slices


250 g of lentils, cooked and rinsed

4 tablespoons of butter

handful of fresh, chopped parsley

juice and zest of one lemon

salt and black pepper

1.2 L of vegetable stock (I used a South African secret weapon!)


Directions:

Melt the butter in a medium sized pot, adding the onions. Cook until soft and see through.


Allow to brown, but not burn.

Add the garlic and cook until soft.

Add the vegetable stock and the lentils .


Add salt and black pepper to taste.

Cover, and lower heat allowing soup to simmer gently for 20 minutes.

Remove from heat, stir in parsley, lemon zest and juice.

Serve with toasted cheese slices or cheese croutons.

Serves 4.

This was meant to last two days, but barely made it through the first. The family gobbled it up! Also, I toasted Arbic bread and broke it off into chunks to dip into the soup. Delish!


It’s easy to make and you can adjust the liquid to suit your taste. If you want thicker add less vegetable stock, etc.


Let me know how yours turned out in the comments.

Until next I blog, 

K.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

