Planning A Vow Renewal Ceremony 

Exciting times ahead. 🎉

Hubby and I got married 13 years ago. We didn’t have a big production, in fact we eloped. Long story for another blogpost!

I’ve never been one to dream of the big white dress, the reception or the cake. He’s been married before and was, I think, relieved that he didn’t have to go through all that again!

Our big day happened in the living room of a Commissioner of Oaths in Athlone. His friend, Kris, was his best man, and my maid of honour was someone who was having her hair done in the hair salon next door. I needed someone over 21, so…

The bridegroom wore Levi’s, a madras check shirt and Caterpillar work boots. The bride wore a white blouse with french cuffs, blue jeans and wedge heeled sandals.

It was over in 20 minutes. No religious stuff, no drawn out traditional posturing, just wham, bam, thank you… and I’m a Missus!


Our lives have been similarly unconventional. I discovered I was pregnant with twins after the wedding. Of course trying to convince everyone that we didn’t get married because I was pregnant was pointless, so we let people think what they want.

Unfortunately the boys ( we named them Brandon and Eric) weren’t well, and just before we hit 5 months, we chose to voluntarily terminate the pregnancy..long story, another blogpost.

Fast forward 13 years and here we are. In the United Arab Emirates. With a 10 year old we love more than life itself.

This cake marries his need for the traditional and mine for chocolate perfectly!

The other day we started talking about celebrating our 15 year anniversary. How we want to do it, where we want to do it, and so on. By our very rough calculations we would be back in SA, in our new home, and settled in by then so that gives me just 22 months to get everything perfect.

So now the planning begins. Our requirements are simple.

  • No religious ceremony. Just a secular officiant reading e.e.cummings or Maya Angelou.
  • No “he said,she said”speeches( I hate those and choke right up). Just a speech by him welcoming our friends and family to our special day they’d missed out on before.
  • No white dress, flower girls, maids of honour and best men. Just me, him and G.
  • No one will “give me away”, since I belong to myself and no one else. My parents will be there and will be thanked for raising me to be the woman I am today, but that’s it.
  • A summer evening affair, requiring black tie and ball gowns. No one dresses up for these things anymore! I want everyone to have an excuse to buy a princess dress and a tux!
  • A dance floor and live band, right in our backyard, with the pool covered in floating candles and solar lamps lighting the way.
  • A huge white tent with silver service waiters to serve the champers.
  • White roses everywhere!
  • No gifts, just donations to a charity of our choice. We have everything we need and the money could benefit others.

I’m excited. This may herald the start of our next 15 years. I’ve started a Pinterest board for the big day and you can follow along with the ideas for decor, dresses and so on.

Here are some of the ideas I have so far:

I like this style, but definitely NOT in white. Maybe grey?
I love the open back but the bow is a bit saccharine for my taste!
This dress satisfies my taste for the dramatic, but is it too much?

G’s outfit will be a challenge since she’s not a fan of dresses. However, she’ll be a pre- teen by then and hopefully I can convince her to try one of these:

Hubby’s very traditional and would probably go for a tuxedo, but I’m hoping he’ll go for one of these:


I’m so excited! Planning this is filling my days and I’m happy to share the excitement with all of you. 

Until next I blog, 

K.

4 thoughts on “Planning A Vow Renewal Ceremony 

  1. I really liked the first dress, simple and romantic and the colours in the last suit matched with the style of the last dress. The mention of Maya Angelou pulled at my heart, I’m already looking forward to reading future posts on this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

