4 smoothies that will make you gorgeous

1. You’re already pretty damn hot. Smart too, since you’re here reading my blog and all. 😉

2. I detest smoothies.🤢

To clarify, I hate the watery stuff juice bars make. Hence, I got myself a blender/ juicer and proceeded to make the thickest, most delicious smoothies I could.

Of course I needed inspiration and often headed to Pinterest for ideas, but more often than not they tasted vile and I needed to add something or take something away.

Through trial and error I discovered that for me to be truly happy with a smoothie I needed to add the following most times:

  • Raw honey
  • Ground flaxseed.
  • Ginger

As with anything that’s marginally good for you, the first two weeks were crap.
I mean that literally. I went on the hour, every hour. 💩

Once my tummy settled, I reduced the fiber and added less dense fruits and added more melons and so on.

Lemme tell you ,my skin was something else!


People thought I was wearing highlighter or illuminating sparkly fairy dust or whatnot. But I swear the smoothies gave me the lit- from-within look you see here. Even my melasma lightened considerably.

Here are my favourites, together with ingredients and quantities. Enjoy!

1. Banana/ almond breakfast smoothie


1 ripe/overripe medium banana

250ml almond milk

1 teaspoon raw honey

1 teaspoon ground flaxseed

Toss it all together and blend like crazy. Yum!!

2. Watermelon/ green apple smoothie


1 medium green apple

1/4 watermelon, deseeded

250 ml yoghurt

50 ml skimmed/low fat milk

1 teaspoon raw honey

1 teaspoon ground flaxseed

Toss it all into a blender and enjoy!

3. Apricot/strawberry dessert smoothie


1 cup frozen strawberries

A handful of overripe apricots

Cold Evian water

1 teaspoon raw honey

Candied ginger (optional)

My dinner guests rave about this one. It’s even more popular than a heavy cream based dessert.

4. Kale/ pineapple smoothie


1 bunch of cleaned kale, stalks removed

250 ml pineapple chunks

1 tablespoon raw honey ( kale is bitter!)

1 teaspoon ground flaxseed

1 small piece of raw ginger

Blend the heck out of this one, add water until you reach the desired consistency. BTW, this is a great detoxifier!👍🏼

Smoothies are the lazy girls answer to eating healthy.

I usually made a large batch in the morning and kept it in the fridge at home and at work. When I didn’t  have much time to eat, I’d slurp a smoothie. 

Until next I blog, 

K. 

Leave a Reply

